Skip to main content

Discord vs Microsoft Teams 2026 | Which is Best?

A Versus B

Discord’s site describes group chat for games, friends, and communities, with voice, video, and text, and describes its streaming as high quality and low latency. Discord Help Center does not state a voice-latency figure in milliseconds. Discord Help Center lists Nitro with uploads up to 1 GB, HD video streaming, and 2 Server Boosts, and lists Nitro Basic with uploads up to 50 MB. Discord Help Center lists Level 1 audio quality at 128 Kbps and Go Live at 720p 60 fps, Level 2 at 256 Kbps and Go Live at 1080p 60 fps, and Level 3 audio quality at 384 Kbps. Microsoft lists Microsoft 365 Business Basic at $7.00 per user per month, paid yearly, with chat, call, and meet in Microsoft Teams, meetings up to 30 hours, and up to 300 participants. Microsoft lists Teams Essentials at $4.00 per user per month, paid yearly. Microsoft lists Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot at $23.50 per user per month, paid yearly. Microsoft Learn lists HIPAA among the standards Teams uses and lists Microsoft Teams as an in-scope commercial service for Microsoft’s HIPAA Business Associate Agreement. Microsoft Learn states that using Microsoft services does not on its own achieve HIPAA compliance. Neither is named the winner.

Discord

Discord

Discord’s site describes group chat for games, friends, and communities, with voice, video, and text.

Group chat for games, friends, and communities, as Discord’s site describes it.

Score75%
VS
Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams

Microsoft lists Teams as the place to meet, chat, call, and collaborate on Microsoft 365 Business Basic and Teams Essentials.

Meetings, chat, and calls on the Microsoft 365 and Teams Essentials plans Microsoft lists.

Score75%
3 attributes3 differences8 pros/cons
TL;DRVoice-ready

Discord’s site describes group chat for games, friends, and communities, with voice, video, and text, and describes its streaming as high quality and low latency. Discord Help Center does not state a voice-latency figure in milliseconds. Discord Help Center lists Nitro with uploads up to 1 GB, HD video streaming, and 2 Server Boosts, and lists Nitro Basic with uploads up to 50 MB. Discord Help Center lists Level 1 audio quality at 128 Kbps and Go Live at 720p 60 fps, Level 2 at 256 Kbps and Go Live at 1080p 60 fps, and Level 3 audio quality at 384 Kbps. Microsoft lists Microsoft 365 Business Basic at $7.00 per user per month, paid yearly, with chat, call, and meet in Microsoft Teams, meetings up to 30 hours, and up to 300 participants. Microsoft lists Teams Essentials at $4.00 per user per month, paid yearly. Microsoft lists Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot at $23.50 per user per month, paid yearly. Microsoft Learn lists HIPAA among the standards Teams uses and lists Microsoft Teams as an in-scope commercial service for Microsoft’s HIPAA Business Associate Agreement. Microsoft Learn states that using Microsoft services does not on its own achieve HIPAA compliance. Neither is named the winner.

Deciding factor: By metric only: Discord Help Center on Nitro upload size and boosted audio bitrate; Microsoft on Teams plan prices, meeting length, and participant capacity; Microsoft Learn on the standards Teams uses. Neither product is named the overall winner.

Key fact: Microsoft lists Microsoft 365 Business Basic at $7.00 per user per month, paid yearly, and Teams Essentials at $4.00 per user per month, paid yearly. Discord Help Center lists Nitro uploads up to 1 GB and does not state a voice-latency figure in milliseconds. Neither is named the winner.

Our Verdict

AI-assisted

Discord’s site describes group chat for games, friends, and communities, with voice, video, and text, and describes its streaming as high quality and low latency. Discord Help Center does not state a voice-latency figure in milliseconds. Discord Help Center lists Nitro with uploads up to 1 GB, HD video streaming, and 2 Server Boosts, and lists Nitro Basic with uploads up to 50 MB. Discord Help Center lists Level 1 audio quality at 128 Kbps and Go Live at 720p 60 fps, Level 2 at 256 Kbps and Go Live at 1080p 60 fps, and Level 3 audio quality at 384 Kbps. Microsoft lists Microsoft 365 Business Basic at $7.00 per user per month, paid yearly, with chat, call, and meet in Microsoft Teams, meetings up to 30 hours, and up to 300 participants. Microsoft lists Teams Essentials at $4.00 per user per month, paid yearly. Microsoft lists Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot at $23.50 per user per month, paid yearly. Microsoft Learn lists HIPAA among the standards Teams uses and lists Microsoft Teams as an in-scope commercial service for Microsoft’s HIPAA Business Associate Agreement. Microsoft Learn states that using Microsoft services does not on its own achieve HIPAA compliance. Neither is named the winner.

Discord

Choose Discord if

Group chat for games, friends, and communities, as Discord’s site describes it.

Microsoft Teams

Choose Microsoft Teams if

Meetings, chat, and calls on the Microsoft 365 and Teams Essentials plans Microsoft lists.

Share this verdict

Get notified when Discord vs Microsoft Teams changes

One email when prices, specs or our verdict on Discord vs Microsoft Teams change. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Key Differences at a Glance

  • Paid plans:Nitro: uploads up to 1 GB, HD video streaming, 2 Server Boosts. Nitro Basic: uploads up to 50 MB. Discord Help Center, updated September 29, 2026. No Nitro dollar amount: Help Center says the price can differ by location. vs Teams Essentials $4.00 per user per month, paid yearly (10 GB cloud storage per user). Microsoft 365 Business Basic $7.00 per user per month, paid yearly (1 TB cloud storage per user). Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot $23.50 per user per month, paid yearly. Opened 2026-11-05.
  • Voice and meetings:Level 1 (2 Server Boosts): 128 Kbps audio, Go Live 720p 60 fps. Level 2 (7 Server Boosts): 256 Kbps audio, Go Live 1080p 60 fps. Level 3 (14 Server Boosts): 384 Kbps audio. Discord Help Center. No millisecond latency figure. vs Maximum meeting duration 30 hours. Participant capacity 300. Microsoft 365 Business Basic also states meetings for up to 300 people. No millisecond voice-latency figure on the Teams plan list opened 2026-11-05.
  • Compliance:HIPAA, ISO, and SOC certifications are not stated in the Discord Help Center Nitro FAQ or Server Boosting FAQ opened 2026-11-05. vs Microsoft Learn lists ISO 27001, ISO 27018, SSAE18 SOC 1 and SOC 2, HIPAA, and EU Model Clauses. Microsoft Teams is an in-scope commercial service for the HIPAA Business Associate Agreement. Using Microsoft services does not on its own achieve HIPAA compliance.

Key Differences

3 attributes compared head-to-head

Discord
0Discord
Evenly matched3 ties
Microsoft Teams
0Microsoft Teams
  • Paid plans

    Discord

    Nitro: uploads up to 1 GB, HD video streaming, 2 Server Boosts. Nitro Basic: uploads up to 50 MB. Discord Help Center, updated September 29, 2026. No Nitro dollar amount: Help Center says the price can differ by location.

    Microsoft Teams

    Teams Essentials $4.00 per user per month, paid yearly (10 GB cloud storage per user). Microsoft 365 Business Basic $7.00 per user per month, paid yearly (1 TB cloud storage per user). Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot $23.50 per user per month, paid yearly. Opened 2026-11-05.

  • Voice and meetings

    Discord

    Level 1 (2 Server Boosts): 128 Kbps audio, Go Live 720p 60 fps. Level 2 (7 Server Boosts): 256 Kbps audio, Go Live 1080p 60 fps. Level 3 (14 Server Boosts): 384 Kbps audio. Discord Help Center. No millisecond latency figure.

    Microsoft Teams

    Maximum meeting duration 30 hours. Participant capacity 300. Microsoft 365 Business Basic also states meetings for up to 300 people. No millisecond voice-latency figure on the Teams plan list opened 2026-11-05.

  • Compliance

    Discord

    HIPAA, ISO, and SOC certifications are not stated in the Discord Help Center Nitro FAQ or Server Boosting FAQ opened 2026-11-05.

    Microsoft Teams

    Microsoft Learn lists ISO 27001, ISO 27018, SSAE18 SOC 1 and SOC 2, HIPAA, and EU Model Clauses. Microsoft Teams is an in-scope commercial service for the HIPAA Business Associate Agreement. Using Microsoft services does not on its own achieve HIPAA compliance.

Full Comparison

Discord
Microsoft Teams
Paid plans
Nitro: uploads up to 1 GB, HD video streaming, 2 Server Boosts. Nitro Basic: uploads up to 50 MB. Discord Help Center, updated September 29, 2026. No Nitro dollar amount: Help Center says the price can differ by location.
Teams Essentials $4.00 per user per month, paid yearly (10 GB cloud storage per user). Microsoft 365 Business Basic $7.00 per user per month, paid yearly (1 TB cloud storage per user). Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot $23.50 per user per month, paid yearly. Opened 2026-11-05.
Voice and meetings
Level 1 (2 Server Boosts): 128 Kbps audio, Go Live 720p 60 fps. Level 2 (7 Server Boosts): 256 Kbps audio, Go Live 1080p 60 fps. Level 3 (14 Server Boosts): 384 Kbps audio. Discord Help Center. No millisecond latency figure.
Maximum meeting duration 30 hours. Participant capacity 300. Microsoft 365 Business Basic also states meetings for up to 300 people. No millisecond voice-latency figure on the Teams plan list opened 2026-11-05.
Compliance
HIPAA, ISO, and SOC certifications are not stated in the Discord Help Center Nitro FAQ or Server Boosting FAQ opened 2026-11-05.
Microsoft Learn lists ISO 27001, ISO 27018, SSAE18 SOC 1 and SOC 2, HIPAA, and EU Model Clauses. Microsoft Teams is an in-scope commercial service for the HIPAA Business Associate Agreement. Using Microsoft services does not on its own achieve HIPAA compliance.

Pros & Cons

6 pros·2 cons across both

Discord
Microsoft Teams
Discord

Discord

+3-1

Pros

Discord’s site describes voice, video, and text chat, and streaming it calls high quality and low latency, without a millisecond figure.
Discord Help Center lists Nitro uploads up to 1 GB and Nitro Basic uploads up to 50 MB.
Discord Help Center lists Level 1 audio at 128 Kbps and Go Live at 720p 60 fps.

Cons

Discord Help Center says the Nitro price can differ by location, so no single dollar price is stated.
Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams

+3-1

Pros

Microsoft lists chat, call, and meet in Teams on Microsoft 365 Business Basic at $7.00 per user per month, paid yearly.
Microsoft lists meetings up to 30 hours and up to 300 participants on Business Basic, Business Standard with Copilot, and Teams Essentials.
Microsoft Learn lists HIPAA among the standards Teams uses and lists Teams as an in-scope commercial service for the HIPAA Business Associate Agreement.

Cons

Microsoft Learn states that using Microsoft services does not on its own achieve HIPAA compliance.

Frequently Asked Questions

5 questions

  1. Neither is named the winner. Discord’s site describes group chat for games, friends, and communities. Microsoft lists Teams for chat, calls, and meetings on Microsoft 365 Business Basic, Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot, and Teams Essentials. Discord Help Center does not state a voice-latency figure in milliseconds.

  2. Discord Help Center names Nitro and Nitro Basic. Nitro lists uploads up to 1 GB, HD video streaming, and 2 Server Boosts. Nitro Basic lists uploads up to 50 MB. Help Center says the price can differ by location, so no Nitro dollar amount is stated. Microsoft lists Teams Essentials at $4.00 per user per month, paid yearly, with 10 GB of cloud storage per user. Microsoft lists Microsoft 365 Business Basic at $7.00 per user per month, paid yearly, with 1 TB of cloud storage per user. Microsoft lists Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot at $23.50 per user per month, paid yearly.

  3. Discord Help Center lists Level 1 audio quality at 128 Kbps and Go Live at 720p 60 fps after 2 Server Boosts. Level 2 is 256 Kbps, with Go Live at 1080p 60 fps, after 7 Server Boosts. Level 3 audio quality is 384 Kbps after 14 Server Boosts. Those figures are bitrate and resolution. Discord Help Center does not state a voice-latency figure in milliseconds. Neither is named the winner.

  4. Microsoft Learn lists ISO 27001, ISO 27018, SSAE18 SOC 1 and SOC 2, HIPAA, and EU Model Clauses among the standards Teams uses. Microsoft’s HIPAA offering lists Microsoft Teams as an in-scope commercial service for Microsoft’s HIPAA Business Associate Agreement. Microsoft Learn states that using Microsoft services does not on its own achieve HIPAA compliance. Neither is named the winner.

  5. Microsoft lists a maximum meeting duration of 30 hours and a participant capacity of 300 for Microsoft 365 Business Basic, Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot, and Teams Essentials. The Microsoft 365 Business Basic description also states meetings and video calls for up to 300 people. Neither is named the winner.

Community feedback

Was this verdict helpful?

Last updated
AI-assistedOur methodology

Debate this on r/ThisOrThatDebate (run by the AversusB team)