Robinhood vs Coinbase 2026: Complete Comparison
Quick Answer
AI SummaryRobinhood offers a user-friendly, all-in-one investment platform with stocks, ETFs, and crypto at competitive fees, while Coinbase is a crypto-specialized exchange with advanced trading tools and superior liquidity. Coinbase is better for serious crypto traders, while Robinhood suits casual investors seeking multi-asset exposure.
Read full verdictBoth platforms serve different investor profiles effectively. Robinhood excels as a beginner-friendly, all-in-one investment app with competitive small-trade fees and growing crypto integration, while Coinbase dominates as a specialized crypto exchange with superior liquidity, advanced tools, and institutional-grade features. Choose Robinhood for diversified investing or Coinbase for serious cryptocurrency trading.
Was this verdict helpful?
Choose Robinhood if
Beginner investors seeking multi-asset exposure with low fees
Choose Coinbase if
Best pickSerious crypto traders and institutions seeking liquidity and advanced tools
Share this verdict
Track this comparison
Get notified when prices change, new specs ship, or our verdict updates.
Triggers: price change new spec verdict update
No spam. Stop anytime.
Key Differences at a Glance
- Primary Focus:✓ Coinbase wins(Crypto-first exchange vs Multi-asset (stocks, ETFs, crypto, options))
- Best For:Beginner casual investors vs Crypto traders and enthusiasts
- Fee Structure:Lower fees on small trades vs Advanced Trade tier more efficient for large orders
Key Facts & Figures
84 numeric metrics compared
| Metric | Robinhood | Coinbase | Ratio |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commission on Stock Trades(USD) | Free | — | — |
| Funded Customers(millions) | 27.2 (Jan 2026) | — | — |
| Total Platform Assets(billions USD) | $324.4 (Jan 2026) | — | — |
| Retirement Account Types(count) | Limited (basic IRA options) | — | — |
| Mobile App Rating(stars) | 4.8/5 (iOS) | — | — |
| Mutual Fund Selection(funds) | Limited | — | — |
| 2025 Revenue(billion USD) | $4.5B | — | — |
| Minimum Account Balance(USD) | $0 | — | — |
| Quarterly Trading Volume(USD Billions) | $22.9B (Jan 2026, crypto only) | Coinbase | |
| Monthly Active Users(millions) | Millions (exact 2026 figure undisclosed) | Coinbase | — |
| Cryptocurrency Assets Available(Count) | Limited selection | 200+ digital assets | — |
| Net Deposits Growth (Recent)(USD Billions) | $4.5B (January 2026) | Not disclosed for same period | — |
| Monthly Account Fee(USD) | $0 | — | — |
| Commission Per Trade(USD) | $0 | — | — |
| Minimum Account Balance(USD) | $0 | — | — |
| Estimated User Base (2026)(millions) | 22+ million | — | — |
| Average Options Spread Tightness(percent difference vs market) | Standard spreads | — | — |
| Order Execution Speed(milliseconds) | 50-100ms | — | — |
| Stock Trading Commission(USD per trade) | $0 | — | — |
| Options Trading Commission(USD per contract) | $0 (+ $0.65 regulatory fee) | — | — |
| Educational Content Available(learning resources) | Basic tutorials only | — | — |
| Cryptocurrencies Supported(coins) | 7 cryptocurrencies | — | — |
| Total Assets Under Management(billion USD) | $85 billion | — | — |
| Active User Base(Millions) | 23.5 million | — | — |
| Stock Commission per Trade(USD) | $0 | — | — |
| Options Contract Fee(USD per contract) | $0.00 | — | — |
| Account Types Supported(Count) | 2 types | — | — |
| Minimum Account Balance(USD) | $0 | — | — |
| Commission Per Stock Trade(USD) | $0 | — | — |
| Minimum Account Balance(USD) | $0 | — | — |
| Minimum Trade Amount (Fractional Shares)(USD) | $1 | — | — |
| Mobile App User Rating(stars) | 4.7/5 (520K reviews) | — | — |
| Maximum Options Trading Level(level) | Level 3 | — | — |
| Cryptocurrency Trading Support(count of assets) | 30+ cryptocurrencies | — | — |
| Supported Cryptocurrencies(count) | 70+ | 200+ | |
| Crypto Trading Fees(%) | 0% (no commission) | 0.5-0.6% maker/taker | |
| Monthly Active Users(millions) | 22 million | 11 million | |
| Maximum Staking Reward APY(%) | 8% APY | 14% APY | |
| Account Minimum(USD) | $0 | $0 | |
| Mobile App Rating (2025)(stars out of 5) | 4.8 | — | — |
| Account Types Available(count) | 3 (Individual, IRA, Joint) | — | — |
| Account Minimum (Cash)(USD) | $0 | — | — |
| Stock Commission(USD per trade) | Free | — | — |
| Options Commission(USD per contract) | Free | — | — |
| Minimum Fractional Share Investment(USD) | $1 | — | — |
| Supported Cryptocurrencies(count) | 7 | 150+ | |
| Mobile App Rating (iOS)(stars out of 5) | 4.7 | — | — |
| Minimum Account Balance to Invest(USD) | $0 | — | — |
| Monthly Account Fee (Standard Tier)(USD) | $0 | — | — |
| Stock Trading Commission per Trade (2026)(USD) | $0 | — | — |
| Number of Investment Asset Classes(count) | 5 (stocks, options, crypto, ETFs, bonds) | — | — |
| Pattern Day Trader Minimum (Regulatory)(USD) | $25,000 | — | — |
| Active User Base (2025)(millions) | 23+ | — | — |
| Maker Trading Fee(%) | 0.4% | 0.4% | |
| Taker Trading Fee(%) | 0.6% | 0.6% | |
| Available Cryptocurrencies(assets) | 150+ assets | 150+ assets | |
| Daily Trading Volume(USD Billions) | $1+ | $1+ | |
| FDIC Deposit Insurance Coverage(USD) | $250,000 | $250,000 | |
| Maker Fee(%) | 0.4% | 0.4% | |
| Taker Fee(%) | 0.6% | 0.6% | |
| Quarterly Trading Volume (2025)(billions USD) | $425B | $425B | |
| Supported Cryptocurrencies(count) | 300+ | 300+ | |
| Registered Users(millions) | Coinbase | Coinbase | |
| Trading Fee (Maker)(%) | 0.5% | 0.5% | |
| Minimum Investment Amount(USD) | $10 | $10 | |
| Maximum Staking APY(%) | 15% | 15% | |
| User Base Size(millions of developers) | 12 million | 12 million | |
| Maker/Taker Trading Fees(%) | 0.5%-0.6% | 0.5%-0.6% | |
| Mobile App Rating (iOS)(stars) | 4.6 | 4.6 | |
| Customer Support Response Time(hours) | 4-12 hours | 4-12 hours | |
| Minimum Deposit(USD) | $2 | $2 | |
| Active Users(millions) | 13+ million | 13+ million | |
| Average Staking APY(%) | 2-5% | 2-5% | |
| Withdrawal Fee (Bitcoin)(USD) | $0.50-$2.00 | $0.50-$2.00 | |
| Standard Trading Fee (Maker)(%) | 0.5% | 0.5% | |
| Standard Trading Fee (Taker)(%) | 0.5% | 0.5% | |
| Ethereum Staking APY(%) | 3.5-4.0% | 3.5-4.0% | |
| Standard Trading Fee (Maker)(%) | 0.5% | 0.5% | |
| Standard Trading Fee (Taker)(%) | 0.6% | 0.6% | |
| Regulatory Licenses(jurisdictions) | 100+ countries | 100+ countries | |
| iOS Mobile App Rating(stars) | 4.6 (500K+ reviews) | 4.6 (500K+ reviews) | |
| Maximum Staking APY(%) | 15% | 15% | |
| Minimum Account Deposit(USD) | $0 | $0 | |
| Digital Asset Insurance Coverage(billion USD) | $255 billion | $255 billion |
Sourced from publicly available data ·
Key Differences
8 attributes compared head-to-head
- Multi-asset (stocks, ETFs, crypto, options)Primary FocusCrypto-first exchange(winner)
- Beginner casual investorsBest ForCrypto traders and enthusiasts
- Lower fees on small tradesFee StructureAdvanced Trade tier more efficient for large orders
- Limited crypto offeringsCryptocurrency SelectionDiverse selection with 200+ digital assets(winner)
- $22.9B crypto notional (Jan 2026)Trading Volume (Quarterly)$425B total trading volume (Q2 2025)(winner)
- Millions of retail investorsUser Base8.7 million monthly transacting users(winner)
- Prediction markets (Kalshi), DEX aggregatorAdvanced FeaturesAdvanced trading tools, institutional support(winner)
- $4.5B net deposits (Jan 2026)(winner)Account FundingEstablished institutional settlement
- Primary Focus
Robinhood
Multi-asset (stocks, ETFs, crypto, options)
Coinbase
Crypto-first exchange(winner)
- Best For
Robinhood
Beginner casual investors
Coinbase
Crypto traders and enthusiasts
- Fee Structure
Robinhood
Lower fees on small trades
Coinbase
Advanced Trade tier more efficient for large orders
- Cryptocurrency Selection
Robinhood
Limited crypto offerings
Coinbase
Diverse selection with 200+ digital assets(winner)
- Trading Volume (Quarterly)
Robinhood
$22.9B crypto notional (Jan 2026)
Coinbase
$425B total trading volume (Q2 2025)(winner)
Full Comparison
| Attribute | Robinhood | Coinbase |
|---|---|---|
| Commission on Stock Trades(USD) | Free | — |
| Commission Per Trade(USD) | $0 | — |
| Stock Trading Commission(USD per trade) | $0 | — |
| Options Trading Commission(USD per contract) | $0 (+ $0.65 regulatory fee) | — |
| Stock Commission per Trade(USD) | $0 | — |
Show 8 more attributesOptions Contract Fee(USD per contract) $0.00 — Stock Commission(USD per trade) Free — Options Commission(USD per contract) Free — Monthly Account Fee (Standard Tier)(USD) $0 — Stock Trading Commission per Trade (2026)(USD) $0 — Trading Fee (Maker)(%) 0.5% — Maker/Taker Trading Fees(%) 0.5%-0.6% — Withdrawal Fee (Bitcoin)(USD) $0.50-$2.00 — | ||
| Funded Customers(millions) | 27.2 (Jan 2026) | — |
| Total Platform Assets(billions USD) | $324.4 (Jan 2026) | — |
| Cryptocurrency Products(count) | Extensive with global expansion 2026 | — |
| Retirement Account Types(count) | Limited (basic IRA options) | — |
| International Trading(availability) | Limited, expanding in 2026 | — |
| Options Trading(availability) | Available | — |
| Research Tools Quality(tier) | Basic charting and market data | — |
| Research Tools Depth | Basic | — |
| Mobile App Rating(stars) | 4.8/5 (iOS) | — |
| Professional Advisory Available(boolean) | No | — |
| Account Types Available | Trading & crypto accounts | — |
| Mutual Fund Selection(funds) | Limited | — |
| Commission on Stock Trading | Free | — |
| Fee Efficiency for Small Trades(Relative Cost) | Lower fees on small crypto buys | Higher fees on small trades |
| Fee Efficiency for Large Trades(Relative Cost) | Less efficient for large orders | Advanced Trade tier efficient for large orders |
| Average Options Spread Tightness(percent difference vs market) | Standard spreads | — |
| Commission Per Stock Trade(USD) | $0 | — |
Show 4 more attributesCrypto Trading Fees(%) 0% (no commission) 0.5-0.6% maker/taker Cost to Users Trading fees apply — Standard Trading Fee (Maker)(%) 0.5% — Standard Trading Fee (Taker)(%) 0.5% — | ||
| 2025 Revenue(billion USD) | $4.5B | — |
| Cryptocurrency Support | Full support (20+ coins) | — |
| AI/Digital Planning Tools | Emerging tools | — |
| Fractional Shares Available | Yes (from $1) | — |
| Social/Community Features(feature count) | Minimal integration | — |
| Fractional Share Availability | Available on all stocks | — |
Show 6 more attributesAutomated Investment Features None (manual trading only) — Supported Assets 100+ Cryptocurrencies — Staking Program Quality Limited selection — Additional Services Basic wallet, learning resources — Copy Trading Available No — Maximum Staking APY(%) 15% — | ||
| Mobile App Experience | Best-in-class for beginners | — |
| Minimum Account Balance(USD) | $0 | — |
| Trading Availability(Hours/Week) | 24/5 with crypto focus | 24/7 globally |
| Minimum Trade Amount (Fractional Shares)(USD) | $1 | — |
| Account Minimum(USD) | $0 | $0 |
| Minimum Fractional Share Investment(USD) | $1 | — |
Show 3 more attributesMinimum Investment Amount(USD) $10 — Minimum Deposit(USD) $2 — Minimum Account Deposit(USD) $0 — | ||
| Quarterly Trading Volume(USD Billions) | $22.9B (Jan 2026, crypto only) | Coinbase(winner) |
| Monthly Active Users(millions) | Millions (exact 2026 figure undisclosed) | Coinbase |
| Monthly Active Users(millions) | 22 million(winner) | 11 million |
| Daily Active Users(millions) | Coinbase | — |
| Cryptocurrency Assets Available(Count) | Limited selection | 200+ digital assets |
| Asset Classes Offered(Types) | Stocks, ETFs, options, crypto, prediction markets | Cryptocurrencies only |
| Asset Classes Offered | Crypto, stocks, ETFs, options | Crypto only (+ staking/earning) |
| Net Deposits Growth (Recent)(USD Billions) | $4.5B (January 2026) | Not disclosed for same period |
| Monthly Account Fee(USD) | $0 | — |
| Maker Fee(%) | 0.4% | — |
| Taker Fee(%) | 0.6% | — |
| Standard Trading Fee (Maker)(%) | 0.5% | — |
| Standard Trading Fee (Taker)(%) | 0.6% | — |
| Minimum Account Balance(USD) | $0 | — |
| Portfolio Management | Self-directed | — |
| Cryptocurrency Trading | Full support (50+ cryptocurrencies) | — |
| Options Trading Available | Yes (with approval) | — |
| Cryptocurrency Trading Support(count of assets) | 30+ cryptocurrencies | — |
| Estimated User Base (2026)(millions) | 22+ million | — |
| Active Users(millions) | 13+ million | — |
| Order Execution Speed(milliseconds) | 50-100ms | — |
| Educational Content Available(learning resources) | Basic tutorials only | — |
| Cryptocurrencies Supported(coins) | 7 cryptocurrencies | — |
| Total Assets Under Management(billion USD) | $85 billion | — |
| Active User Base(Millions) | 23.5 million | — |
| Active User Base (2025)(millions) | 23+ | — |
| Account Types Supported(Count) | 2 types | — |
| Minimum Account Balance(USD) | $0 | — |
| Minimum Account Balance(USD) | $0 | — |
| Account Minimum (Cash)(USD) | $0 | — |
| Minimum Account Balance to Invest(USD) | $0 | — |
| Pattern Day Trader Minimum (Regulatory)(USD) | $25,000 | — |
| Mobile App User Rating(stars) | 4.7/5 (520K reviews) | — |
| Mobile App Rating (2025)(stars out of 5) | 4.8 | — |
| Mobile App Rating (iOS)(stars out of 5) | 4.7 | — |
| Mobile App Rating (iOS)(stars) | 4.6 | — |
| iOS Mobile App Rating(stars) | 4.6 (500K+ reviews) | — |
| Research Reports Available Daily(count) | Limited/basic | — |
| Research Reports & Analysis(count) | Basic charts only | — |
| Maximum Options Trading Level(level) | Level 3 | — |
| Phone Support Hours(days per week) | Not available | — |
| Supported Cryptocurrencies(count) | 70+ | 200+(winner) |
| Maximum Staking Reward APY(%) | 8% APY | 14% APY(winner) |
| Margin Trading Available | No | Yes (up to 5x leverage on select assets) |
| Crypto Futures Trading | No | Yes (perpetual futures) |
| Customer Support Hours(availability) | 120 (24/5) | — |
| Customer Support Availability(hours/week) | Chat/email only | — |
| Account Types Available(count) | 3 (Individual, IRA, Joint) | — |
| Cryptocurrency Trading(asset types) | Yes - 20+ cryptos direct trading | — |
| Margin Trading Available | Yes | — |
| Supported Cryptocurrencies(count) | 7 | 150+(winner) |
| Number of Investment Asset Classes(count) | 5 (stocks, options, crypto, ETFs, bonds) | — |
| Research Tools & Data Quality(qualitative) | Basic charting, limited analysis | — |
| Maker Trading Fee(%) | 0.4% | — |
| Taker Trading Fee(%) | 0.6% | — |
| Available Cryptocurrencies(assets) | 150+ assets | — |
| Daily Trading Volume(USD Billions) | $1+ | — |
| FDIC Deposit Insurance Coverage(USD) | $250,000 | — |
| SEC Regulatory Registration(status) | SEC-regulated, SOC 2 certified | — |
| Regulatory License | US Licensed Exchange | — |
| US Regulatory Status | Fully licensed & regulated | — |
| Regulatory Licenses(jurisdictions) | 100+ countries | — |
| Quarterly Trading Volume (2025)(billions USD) | $425B | — |
| Supported Cryptocurrencies(count) | 300+ | — |
| Ease of Use | Very beginner-friendly | — |
| User Interface Complexity | Simplified design for beginners | — |
| Advanced Trading Features | Basic to intermediate | — |
| Security Focus | Industry-leading retail focus | — |
| Digital Asset Insurance Coverage(billion USD) | $255 billion | — |
| Year-over-Year User Growth(percent) | Coinbase | — |
| Primary Function | Crypto Trading Exchange | — |
| Registered Users(millions) | Coinbase | — |
| App Downloads (2024)(millions) | Coinbase | — |
| User Base Size(millions of developers) | 12 million | — |
| Maximum Staking APY(%) | 15% | — |
| Ethereum Staking APY(%) | 3.5-4.0% | — |
| API Access | Yes | — |
| Customer Support Response Time(hours) | 4-12 hours | — |
| Average Staking APY(%) | 2-5% | — |
Show 8 more attributes
Show 4 more attributes
Show 6 more attributes
Show 3 more attributes
Pros & Cons
12 pros·8 cons across both
Robinhood
Pros
Cons
Coinbase
Pros
Cons
Frequently Asked Questions
4 questions
Coinbase is the better platform for crypto investing. It offers 200+ cryptocurrencies (vs Robinhood's approximately 20), ETH and SOL staking to earn yield on held assets, Coinbase Wallet for self-custody and DeFi access, and Base (Coinbase's Ethereum Layer 2 network). Coinbase is the largest US-regulated crypto exchange with the strongest regulatory compliance and institutional-grade custody. Robinhood's crypto offering is simpler — good for buying and holding Bitcoin or Ethereum with a commission-free-style interface — but lacks the depth, staking, or DeFi ecosystem that serious crypto investors need. For casual crypto buyers who primarily want BTC or ETH alongside their stocks, Robinhood's simplicity is a genuine advantage.
Robinhood is a legitimate, regulated US broker-dealer and is a member of FINRA and SIPC (Securities Investor Protection Corporation). SIPC insures up to $500,000 ($250,000 cash) in customer accounts if Robinhood fails — the same protection offered by major brokerages. Robinhood Gold accounts also have additional sweep network FDIC insurance on uninvested cash (up to $2.25 million across multiple banks). However, Robinhood's payment for order flow (PFOF) revenue model means orders may not always receive the best possible execution price. For long-term investing in index funds or blue-chip stocks, Robinhood is safe and suitable. For active trading where execution quality matters, Fidelity or Charles Schwab may offer better order routing.
Base is Coinbase's Ethereum Layer 2 blockchain, launched in August 2023. It is built on the OP Stack (the same technology as Optimism) and is designed to be a "home for on-chain" — a fast, low-fee alternative to Ethereum mainnet transactions. Base has grown rapidly, becoming one of the most active L2s by transaction count in 2026. Base is used for DeFi applications, NFT minting, token launches, and on-chain social networks (notably Farcaster protocol). Transaction fees on Base are typically $0.001-$0.05 vs $0.50-$30+ on Ethereum mainnet during busy periods. Base is open to any developer and is not restricted to Coinbase users — but Coinbase Wallet integrates natively with Base for easy access.
Robinhood Gold is Robinhood's $5/month premium subscription offering. Key benefits: 5% APY on uninvested cash in your account (higher than most traditional savings accounts), margin investing at 8% interest rate, access to Morningstar professional research reports on 1,700+ stocks, Level II market data (deeper order book visibility), and instant deposit of up to $50,000. The 5% APY on uninvested cash is the most compelling feature — even $1,000 in uninvested cash earns $50/year, which already covers the $60/year subscription cost. Robinhood Gold also includes a 1% IRA contribution match for Robinhood IRA accounts (the only IRA match in the US brokerage industry). For any Robinhood user who keeps $1,200+ in cash uninvested, Gold pays for itself.
Expert Analysis: Robinhood vs Coinbase
Coinbase and Robinhood are the two most prominent US retail investment platforms that serve both stock trading and cryptocurrency trading — but they built their reputations from opposite directions. Coinbase started as a crypto exchange and added limited traditional asset exposure, while Robinhood started as a commission-free stock brokerage and added crypto as a growth lever. In 2026, both face intense competition but serve distinct primary audiences.
Coinbase (Coinbase Global Inc., founded 2012 by Brian Armstrong and Fred Ehrsam, San Francisco; NASDAQ: COIN; 2026 revenue approximately $5-7 billion, highly correlated with crypto market conditions): Coinbase is the largest US-regulated cryptocurrency exchange by trading volume and the dominant onramp to crypto for retail US investors. Coinbase went public via direct listing in April 2021. As of 2026, Coinbase has approximately 9-11 million monthly transacting users and $200-300+ billion in assets on platform (varying significantly with crypto market prices). Coinbase's product suite has expanded well beyond spot trading: Coinbase Advanced Trade (professional trading interface), Coinbase Prime (institutional custody, OTC, and execution for hedge funds and corporate treasuries), Coinbase Wallet (self-custody wallet for DeFi access), Base (Coinbase's Ethereum Layer 2 network — one of the most active L2s in 2026 by transactions), and Coinbase Staking (earn yield on held assets like ETH, SOL, ADA). Coinbase's regulatory engagement is distinctive — as a publicly traded company with compliance infrastructure, Coinbase has invested heavily in legal clarity and is a leading industry voice in crypto regulation. Coinbase's key weakness: trading fees are higher than offshore competitors (standard fee approximately 1.5% on small trades; advanced trade fees 0.05-0.4%) and the platform's reliance on crypto market sentiment makes revenue extremely volatile.
Robinhood (Robinhood Markets Inc., founded 2013 by Vlad Tenev and Baiju Bhatt, Menlo Park; NASDAQ: HOOD; 2026 revenue approximately $2-2.5 billion): Robinhood pioneered commission-free US stock trading when it launched in 2013, forcing the entire brokerage industry (Fidelity, Schwab, TD Ameritrade) to eliminate commissions by 2019-2020. Robinhood's current product covers: stocks, ETFs, and options (commission-free), cryptocurrency trading (Bitcoin, Ethereum, Dogecoin, and 20+ assets), Robinhood Gold ($5/month — 5% APY on uninvested cash, margin access, premium research), Robinhood IRA (retirement accounts with a 1% match on contributions), and Robinhood Legend (desktop platform for active traders, launched 2024). Robinhood has expanded internationally: UK brokerage (2023), and EU market entry (2024). Robinhood's crypto offering is more limited than Coinbase — it offers trading in spot assets but lacks staking, DeFi wallet integration, or the Coinbase ecosystem. Robinhood's revenue model relies primarily on payment for order flow (PFOF) — routing orders to market makers who pay Robinhood for the trade flow — a model that has attracted regulatory scrutiny.
Read 2 more paragraphsShow less
Key differences: Coinbase wins for crypto-primary users — deeper asset selection (200+ cryptocurrencies vs Robinhood's ~20), staking, DeFi wallet (Coinbase Wallet), Base L2 access, and institutional-grade custody. Robinhood wins for users who want stocks, ETFs, and options alongside basic crypto in a single simple app — lower friction, commission-free stock trading, and Robinhood Gold's cash yield are compelling for the casual investor.
The 2026 verdict: Coinbase is the better platform for serious crypto investors. Robinhood is the better platform for retail investors who want everything (stocks, ETFs, options, basic crypto) in one mobile-first application at the lowest possible cost.
Resources & Learn More
Curated sources to dive deeper
Where to Buy
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Other links on this page may also earn us a commission, at no extra cost to you. Learn more about our affiliate disclosure
Wikipedia
Explore More
Related comparisons and categories