Cashier's Check vs Certified Check
A cashier's check is drawn on the bank's own funds: Regulation CC defines it as a check signed for the bank as drawer and a direct obligation of the bank. A certified check is the customer's own check that the drawee bank certifies, and Regulation CC says the bank has set aside funds equal to the check to pay it, or that the bank will pay the check on presentment. Neither is named the winner.
Deciding factor: Neither is named the winner.
Key fact: Regulation CC: a cashier's check is a direct obligation of the bank. A certified check is the customer's check, and the drawee bank either sets aside funds equal to the check or agrees to pay it on presentment.
Cashier's check (US): Regulation CC makes it a direct obligation of the bank. Chase lists $10 at a branch. Bank of America lists $15. Wells Fargo lists $10. Confirm the fee with the bank. Certified check (US): the customer's own check. Regulation CC says the drawee bank certifies it and has set aside funds equal to the check, or will pay it on presentment. These three bank schedules do not state a certified-check fee. Neither is named the winner.
Was this verdict helpful?
Choose Cashier's check if
A bank's own check for a larger payment
Choose Certified check if
The customer's own check, certified by the drawee bank
Share this verdict
Track this comparison
Get notified when prices change, new specs ship, or our verdict updates.
Triggers: price change new spec verdict update
No spam. Stop anytime.
Key Differences at a Glance
- Whose funds:The bank's. A direct obligation of the bank vs The customer's check. The bank certifies it
- When the money moves:Chase: withdrawn from your account when you request the check vs Regulation CC: funds set aside, or the bank pays on presentment
- US fee:Chase $10. Bank of America $15. Wells Fargo $10. Confirm with the bank vs These three schedules do not state a fee. Confirm with the bank
Compare next
Cashier's Check vs Money Order
Key Facts & Figures
1 numeric metric compared
| Metric | Cashier's check | Certified check | Ratio |
|---|---|---|---|
| US fee | Chase $10. Bank of America $15. Wells Fargo $10. Confirm with the bank | These three schedules do not state a fee. Confirm with the bank | — |
Sourced from publicly available data ·
Key Differences
5 attributes compared head-to-head
- The bank's. A direct obligation of the bankWhose fundsThe customer's check. The bank certifies it
- Chase: withdrawn from your account when you request the checkWhen the money movesRegulation CC: funds set aside, or the bank pays on presentment
- Chase $10. Bank of America $15. Wells Fargo $10. Confirm with the bankUS feeThese three schedules do not state a fee. Confirm with the bank
- Chase branch. Bank of America financial center. Wells Fargo online or in personWhere to get it (US)Chase says certification may require a bank visit
- Next business day in person, under Regulation CC. Second business day if not in personDeposit availabilityThe same next-day rule as a cashier's check
- Whose funds
Cashier's check
The bank's. A direct obligation of the bank
Certified check
The customer's check. The bank certifies it
- When the money moves
Cashier's check
Chase: withdrawn from your account when you request the check
Certified check
Regulation CC: funds set aside, or the bank pays on presentment
- US fee
Cashier's check
Chase $10. Bank of America $15. Wells Fargo $10. Confirm with the bank
Certified check
These three schedules do not state a fee. Confirm with the bank
- Where to get it (US)
Cashier's check
Chase branch. Bank of America financial center. Wells Fargo online or in person
Certified check
Chase says certification may require a bank visit
- Deposit availability
Cashier's check
Next business day in person, under Regulation CC. Second business day if not in person
Certified check
The same next-day rule as a cashier's check
Full Comparison
| Attribute | Cashier's check | Certified check |
|---|---|---|
| Whose funds | The bank's. A direct obligation of the bankTie | The customer's check. The bank certifies itTie |
| US fee | Chase $10. Bank of America $15. Wells Fargo $10. Confirm with the bankTie | These three schedules do not state a fee. Confirm with the bankTie |
| Where to get it (US) | Chase branch. Bank of America financial center. Wells Fargo online or in personTie | Chase says certification may require a bank visitTie |
| Who issues it | The bank. Regulation CC: signed for the bank as drawer, a direct obligation of the bank | The customer writes it. The drawee bank certifies it by an officer's or employee's signature |
| Uses Chase names | Down payments, renovations, international payments, and legal settlements. Chase also says larger transactions | Large purchases, down payments, and government transactions. Chase also says smaller payments may fit |
| When deposited funds must be available | Next business day in a payee's account, in person to an employee, with the bank's special slip when required. Second business day if not in person. Exceptions can apply over $6,725 | The same next-day rule, the same in-person condition, and the same special-slip condition |
| If it is lost | Wells Fargo: branch-only stop and reissuance, an indemnity agreement, and a wait of 90 days over $1,000 (30 days in Wisconsin, 91 days in New York) unless a surety bond is provided | Confirm with the bank that certified the check. These schedules do not state a separate certified-check replacement fee |
Pros & Cons
8 pros·8 cons across both
Cashier's check
Pros
Cons
Certified check
Pros
Cons
Frequently Asked Questions
7 questions
Regulation CC says a cashier's check is drawn on the bank, signed for the bank as drawer, and is a direct obligation of the bank. A certified check is a check the drawee bank certifies. Certification means the drawer's signature is genuine and the bank has set aside funds equal to the check that will be used to pay it, or that the bank will pay the check on presentment. Chase says the cashier's check amount is withdrawn when you request it, and that a certified check is your personal check.
Regulation CC still defines a certified check. Chase still describes one as a personal check the bank verifies, and Bank of America still defines one as a check for which the bank guarantees payment. Chase's personal fee schedule states a cashier's check fee and a money order fee. It does not state a certified-check fee. Confirm with the bank whether it will certify a check.
Chase lists $10 per cashier's check purchased at a branch. Chase Premier Plus Checking and Chase Private Client Checking pay no Chase fee for one. Chase says a Sapphire Checking customer pays no Chase fee for one, and that Sapphire Checking is no longer available for new account openings. Bank of America lists $15, waived for Preferred Rewards. Wells Fargo lists $10 each, plus $8 to deliver an online order inside the United States. Confirm the fee with the bank. These schedules do not state a certified-check fee.
Regulation CC says certification can mean the bank has set aside funds equal to the check and will use those funds to pay it, or that the bank will pay the check on presentment. Chase says the bank sets the money aside when the check is certified, and that the money is drawn from the linked checking account when the check is cashed or deposited. Chase also says the funds are not withdrawn until the recipient cashes the check. A cashier's check is withdrawn when you request it.
Regulation CC puts a cashier's check and a certified check on the same next-day rule. Deposited in a payee's account, in person to an employee of the depositary bank, the funds must be available the next business day. The bank may require its special deposit slip. If the deposit is not made in person to an employee, the rule is the second business day. Amounts over $6,725 on one banking day, and amounts over $6,725 in a new account, can take longer. The CFPB says the bank can take the money back if the check was fraudulent, even after a withdrawal.
Wells Fargo says you may request a stop payment and reissuance only in a branch, and that Wells Fargo requires an indemnity agreement. For a cashier's check over $1,000, Wells Fargo says the wait is 90 days, 30 days in Wisconsin, and 91 days in New York, unless an acceptable surety bond is provided. The cost of that bond varies. Chase says a cashier's check cannot be canceled the way a personal check can. Confirm the steps with the bank that issued the check.
Neither is named safer. Chase says both may provide extra assurance for large transactions, and that both generally offer a high level of security compared with a regular personal check. Bank of America says a cashier's check will not usually bounce because the bank assumes the obligation, and that a certified check is a check for which the bank guarantees payment. The CFPB says a bad check can still be counterfeit, and that the bank can take deposited funds back if the check was fraudulent.
Analysis: Cashier's check vs Certified check
A cashier's check is drawn on the bank's own funds: Regulation CC defines it as a check signed for the bank as drawer and a direct obligation of the bank. A certified check is the customer's own check that the drawee bank certifies, and Regulation CC says the bank has set aside funds equal to the check to pay it, or that the bank will pay the check on presentment. Neither is named the winner.
Who issues it
Regulation CC says a cashier's check is drawn on a bank, signed by an officer or employee of the bank on behalf of the bank as drawer, is a direct obligation of the bank, and is provided to a customer of the bank or acquired from the bank for remittance purposes. Bank of America says it is issued by a bank and paid from the bank's funds, that the amount is paid to the bank when it is issued, and that the bank then assumes the obligation. Chase says the bank withdraws the amount from your account and issues the check using the bank's own account details.
Read 13 more paragraphsShow less
Regulation CC says a certified check is a check the drawee bank certifies by the signature of an officer or other authorized employee. That certification is either that the drawer's signature is genuine and the bank has set aside funds equal to the check that will be used to pay it, or that the bank will pay the check on presentment. Chase says a certified check is a personal check the bank verifies as having sufficient funds. Bank of America says a certified check is a check for which the bank guarantees payment.
Fees, limits, and where to get one (US)
Chase's personal fee schedule, effective June 14, 2026, lists a cashier's check at $10 per check, purchased at a branch, for any amount and to a payee you designate. Chase says Premier Plus Checking and Private Client Checking do not pay a Chase fee for a cashier's check. Chase says a Sapphire Checking customer pays no Chase fee for a cashier's check, and that Sapphire Checking is no longer available for new account openings. Bank of America lists a $15 fee for a checking or savings customer, waived for customers enrolled in Preferred Rewards. Bank of America says it will not provide a cashier's check without a checking or savings account. Wells Fargo lists $10 for each cashier's check. Checking and savings customers can order one online for up to $2,000, or in person for a larger amount, with a $6,000 monthly limit per customer. Delivery of an online order to a U.S. address adds $8. Wells Fargo says it does not deliver to P.O. Boxes, and to allow up to 3 business days for Alaska and Hawaii. Wells Fargo says some accounts offer fee waivers. Confirm the fee with the bank.
Chase's personal fee schedule states a cashier's check fee and a money order fee. It does not state a certified-check fee. Bank of America's financial center FAQ states the $15 cashier's check fee and does not state a certified-check fee. Wells Fargo's fee schedule states the $10 cashier's check fee and does not state a certified-check fee. Confirm with the bank whether it will certify a check and what it charges.
When each one is used
Chase says cashier's checks tend to be used for larger transactions, and that certified checks may be best for smaller payments. On its types-of-checks explanation, Chase says cashier's checks are used for down payments for various assets, renovations, international payments, and legal settlements, and that certified checks are used for large purchases, down payments for various assets, and government transactions. Chase says both may provide extra assurance for large transactions. Cashier's check vs money order covers postal and bank money orders.
Safety and fraud
Chase says the bank's signature on a certified check guarantees payment, and that the bank sets the money aside so the check can be paid without a risk of bouncing. Chase says a cashier's check cannot be canceled the way a personal check can. Bank of America says a cashier's check will not usually bounce. Those statements describe a check the bank actually issued or certified.
The CFPB says a common scam uses a bad check for more than the price of something you are selling, then asks you to send the difference back. Do not send that money. Alert the bank or credit union. The CFPB says the bank can take the money back if the deposited check was fraudulent, even if the bank had made the money available and you had withdrawn it, and that the bank can charge an overdraft fee if the account is then overdrawn.
How to get one
Chase says a cashier's check is purchased at a branch, and that you may be able to get one online. Wells Fargo says checking and savings customers can order one online up to $2,000 or in person for a larger amount. Bank of America says a checking or savings customer gets one at a financial center. Chase says a certified check is your personal check, so certification may require a visit to the bank. Confirm the fee and whether that bank will certify a check before you go.
Replacing a lost one
Wells Fargo says a stop payment and reissuance of a lost, stolen, or destroyed cashier's check can be completed only in a branch, and that an indemnity agreement is required. For a cashier's check over $1,000, Wells Fargo says the waiting period is 90 days, 30 days in Wisconsin, and 91 days in New York. A surety bond can avoid that wait. The cost varies by the amount and the insurer. Chase says that, for the person receiving a cashier's check, it cannot be canceled the way a personal check can. Confirm the steps with the bank that issued or certified the check.
Resources & Learn More
Curated sources to dive deeper
Wikipedia
External Resources
12 CFR 229.2 (eCFR) (opens in new tab)
Cashier's check: drawn on a bank, signed for the bank as drawer, a direct obligation of the bank. Certified check: the drawee bank certifies the signature and sets funds aside, or agrees to pay the check on presentment.
12 CFR 229.10 (eCFR) (opens in new tab)
Next-business-day availability for a cashier's check or a certified check deposited in a payee's account, in person to an employee, with a special deposit slip when the bank requires one. Second business day if not in person.
12 CFR 229.13 (eCFR) (opens in new tab)
New-account and large-deposit exceptions at $6,725. New-account excess by the ninth business day. Reasonable-cause and emergency exceptions.
CFPB fake check answer (opens in new tab)
A bad check for more than the price, with a request to send the difference back, is a common scam. Do not send money. Alert the bank.
CFPB fraudulent deposit answer (opens in new tab)
A bank can take the money back if the deposited check was fraudulent, even after a withdrawal, and can charge an overdraft fee if the account is then overdrawn.
Chase personal fee schedule (opens in new tab)
Effective June 14, 2026. Cashier's check $10 at a branch, for any amount. Premier Plus Checking and Private Client Checking pay no Chase fee. No certified-check fee is stated.
Chase Sapphire Checking fees (opens in new tab)
Sapphire Checking is no longer available for new account openings. A Sapphire Checking customer pays no Chase fee for a cashier's check.
Chase, cashier's check vs certified check (opens in new tab)
A cashier's check is issued on the bank's account details and the amount is withdrawn at the request. A certified check is a personal check. Chase says the amount is usually set aside, and also that it is not withdrawn until the check is cashed.
Chase, five common types of checks (opens in new tab)
Cashier's checks: down payments, renovations, international payments, and legal settlements. Certified checks: large purchases, down payments, and government transactions. The bank sets the certified-check money aside.
Bank of America financial center FAQ (opens in new tab)
A checking or savings customer can get a cashier's check for $15, waived for Preferred Rewards. No cashier's check without a checking or savings account. No certified-check fee is stated.
Bank of America glossary (opens in new tab)
Cashier's check: issued by a bank and paid from its funds. Certified check: a check for which the bank guarantees payment.
Wells Fargo consumer and business fees (opens in new tab)
Cashier's check $10. Online up to $2,000, in person for a larger amount, $6,000 monthly limit. Delivery $8. Lost-check wait of 90 days, 30 days in Wisconsin, 91 days in New York. No certified-check fee is stated.
Explore More
Related comparisons and categories
Explore Entities
- Cashier's check
- Certified check
- Alternatives to Cashier's check
- Alternatives to Certified check